Under Law No 11 of 2018, the Department of Energy (DoE) has a duty to regulate the central / district cooling sector in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi. Following extensive consultation with the public and private stakeholders, theDOE has launched the District Cooling regulations upon the government approval, comprising technical, legal and economic dimensions.

The economic dimension of this framework will look into aspects of market competition and price regulation, to ensure that:

  • There is increased fairness and transparency in the market as well as enhance service levels for end-users.
  • The price for new district cooling schemes is fair and lower than the cost of the best alternative available for cooling.
  • The benefits of district cooling are properly reflected in end-users tariffs.
  • District cooling providers can recover their efficient costs and sector profitability is fostered.
  • The price control process is easy to implement and sustainable in the long term.

District Cooling Regulations are published here, and effective since September 2019.

Bulk supply tariffs

The distribution companies in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi pay EWEC a bulk supply tariff (BST) for any water and electricity supplied to them. This charge is calculated each year and is approved by the DoE.

The calculation of the BST requires the estimation of the cost of procuring and despatching water and electricity to meet the forecasted demand. The calculation of the BST is required to contend with the additional complexity of allocating fuel costs separately to water and electricity from cogeneration plants and the allocation of costs in general to customers inside and outside the Emirate of Abu Dhabi.

Since 2012, the structure of the BST for water and electricity consists of three components:

  • A 'system marginal price (SMP) charge’ estimated to indicate the short-term marginal costs (excluding back-up fuel (BUF) costs) of providing units at different times of the day;
  • A 'BUF levy charge’ estimated to reflect the additional costs associated with the burning of back-up fuel rather than primary fuel; and
  • A 'high peak period charge’ assessed to cover the costs associated with the estimated capacity payments and charged only in the peak demand occurring during the months of June to September, inclusive.

The BST is expressed in fils/kWh for electricity and AED/TIG for water. It is charged on an hourly basis for electricity and water purchased at different times of the day, for 'Fridays' and 'Non-Fridays', and in different months of the calendar year.

Customer tariffs & charges

The DoE, under the Law, has a general duty to protect the interests of water and electricity consumers as to the terms and conditions and price of supply. In practice, the DoE discharges this duty in relation to price through the economic regulation of the sector’s licensed companies. In particular, the DoE caps the revenue that can be recovered by the distribution companies. This revenue capping is based on the total economic costs of distribution and supply.

 

However, in recognition of the fact that the government of Abu Dhabi has historically subsidised the supply of water and electricity, the licence for the distribution companies allows DoE (Formerly ADWEA) to direct that certain customers are 'subsidy customers', and that such customers are charged a tariff determined by DoE (Formerly ADWEA). The difference between the total revenue that can be recovered by the distribution companies and the revenue they receive from customer tariffs represents the government subsidy to the sector.

 

Standard tariffs

Standard tariffs are published by the distribution companies as indicated by DoE. Given that, presently, the total economic costs of a unit of water or electricity exceed the published tariffs, the standard tariff customers benefit from the government's subsidy.

 

The present standard tariffs are charged on a per unit basis, the electricity customers are charged a unit rate per kilowatt-hour for electricity and cubic meter for water if they have a meter; otherwise, they are charged a fixed monthly amount for their water consumption.

 

Currently, electricity tariffs vary according to the type of customer (commercial, farming, or domestic, for example) and their nationality.

 

The DoE's current understanding of imposed tariffs for final customers is as listed  below.

 

 

 

Large user tariffs

Large user tariffs are available to customers whose daily consumption of electricity or water is in excess of 1 megawatt (MW) and 10,000 litres, respectively. These are required to be cost-reflective and are subject to the DoE's approval.

 

Please refer to our 'Electricity tariffs for large-users in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi' for further details on electricity tariffs, obtaining large user tariff, and the role of subsidies.

 

Connection charges

New connections for electricity and water are subject to connection charges levied by the distribution companies, subject to the DoE's approval. TRANSCO also levies connection charges on all parties connecting directly to its transmission system. In this case, connection charges cover the capital costs and the ongoing operation and maintenance costs of providing assets required to connect a user to the transmission system.

Transmission Use of System Charges

TRANSCO charges the distribution companies (ADDC and AADC) and EWEC (for exports to utilities outside the Emirate of Abu Dhabi) a transmission use of system (TUoS) fee for use of its transmission system.

 

Since 2013, TUoS charges have been restructured and are applied on a volume basis, expressed in fils per kilowatt hour (kWh) and AED per thousand imperial gallons (TIG). Each utility now pays TUoS charges based on the units of electricity and water it receives. Similar to BST, TUoS charges are set to vary from the off-peak period to the peak period of each day, from Fridays to Non-Fridays, and from winter months to summer months.

 

Therefore, TUoS sends the appropriate signals to customers about the economic cost of meeting their demand. Previously, they were expressed in AED per kilowatt (kW) and AED per thousand imperial gallons per day (TIGD) and were paid by the utilities on the basis of their respective shares to the total system peak demands.

 

TUoS charges cover the investment, operation, and maintenance costs of the infrastructure of the transmission systems, excluding assets that are dedicated entirely to a particular customer (which are covered by the connection charges). The TUoS charges are calculated for each calendar year on a basis approved by the DoE pursuant to the licence granted to TRANSCO.

X
Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Confirm

بموجب القانون رقم 11 لعام 2018، تتولى دائرة الطاقة مسؤولية تنظيم قطاع تبريد المناطق في إمارة أبوظبي، بحيث تعمل حالياً مع حكومة أبوظبي على إنهاء وإصدار الإطار التنظيمي لتبريد المناطق يتضمن أبعاداً فنية وقانونية واقتصادية، وذلك بعد عقد مشاورات مكثفة مع الشركاء الرئيسيين من القطاعين العام والخاص.

ويناقش البعد الاقتصادي لهذا الإطار التنظيمي مسألة تنافسية السوق وتعليمات التسعير، لضمان ما يلي:

  • زيادة مستوى العدالة والشفافية في السوق وتحسين جودة الخدمات المقدمة للمستخدمين النهائيين،
  • أن تكون التكلفة الثابتة لخدمات تبريد المناطق أقل من تكلفة أفضل حلول التبريد البديلة،
  • أن تعكس فوائد ومزايا خدمات تبريد المناطق على تعرفة المستخدمين النهائيين بصورة جيدة،
  • إمكانية استرداد مزودي خدمات تبريد المناطق تكاليفهم وتحقيق الأرباح في القطاع،
  • سهولة تطبيق عملية نظام مراقبة الأسعار واستدامتها على المدى الطويل

تعرفة التوريد بالجملة

تلتزم شركات التوزيع في إمارة أبوظبي بدفع تعرفة الإمداد بالجملة لشركة مياه وكهرباء الإمارات وذلك عن أي كمية من الماء والكهرباء يتم إمدادهم بها. ويتم احتساب هذه التعرفة بشكل سنوي واعتمادها من قبل الدائرة.

يتطلب احتساب تعرفة الإمداد بالجملة تقدير تكلفة شراء وتوزيع الماء والكهرباء لتلبية الطلب المتوقع. ويلزم احتساب تعرفة الإمداد بالجملة لمواجهة صعوبة توزيع تكاليف الوقود المتعلقة بخدمات الكهرباء والماء– بشكل منفرد- على محطات التوليد المزدوجة وتوزيع التكاليف بوجه عام على المتعاملين داخل إمارة أبوظبي أو خارجها.

منذ عام 2012، تم إعادة هيكلة تعرفة التوريد بالجملة لكل من الماء والكهرباء ليشمل على المكونات الثلاثة التالية:

  • "تعرفة نظام التسعير الهامشي" يتم تقديرها لبيان التكاليف الهامشية قصيرة المدى (باستثناء تكاليف الوقود الاحتياطي) لتوفير الوحدات على مدار اليوم.
  • "تعرفة ضريبة الوقود الاحتياطي" يتم تقديرها لتعكس التكاليف الإضافية المرتبطة باستخدام الوقود الاحتياطي بدلاً من الوقود الأساسي.
  • "تعرفة أوقات الذروة" يتم تقديرها لتغطية التكاليف المرتبطة بمدفوعات السعة المقدرة ويتم احتسابها فقط في أوقات الذروة على الطلب خلال الأشهر من يونيو إلى سبتمبر.

تعرفة الإمداد بالجملة ممثَّلة بالفلس لكل كيلوواط ساعة للكهرباء وبدرهم إماراتي لكل ألف جالون بريطاني من المياه، يتم احتسابها بالساعة لكميات الكهرباء والماء التي يتم شراؤها في أوقات مختلفة من اليوم وفي يوم "الجمعة" و"الأيام الأخرى" وفي أشهر مختلفة من السنة.

تعرفات ورسوم المتعاملين

طبقاً لأحكام القانون، تتحمل دائرة الطاقة مسؤولية حماية مصالح مستهلِكِي الماء والكهرباء فيما يتعلق بشروط وبنود وأسعار الإمداد. ومن الناحية العملية، تمارس الدائرة مهامها المتعلقة بالأسعار من خلال التنظيم الاقتصادي للشركات المرخصة في القطاع. وعلى وجه الخصوص، تحدد الدائرة سقفاً للإيرادات التي تحصل عليها من شركات التوزيع، بحيث تعتمد في تحديد سقف الإيرادات على إجمالي التكاليف الاقتصادية لكل من التوزيع والإمداد.

ومع الأخذ في الاعتبار الدعم الذي قدمته حكومة إمارة أبوظبي لإمداد الماء والكهرباء في السابق، نجد أن الترخيص الممنوح لشركات التوزيع يعطي الحق لدائرة الطاقة (هيئة مياه وكهرباء أبوظبي سابقاً) بأن تضع بعض المستهلكين ضمن "فئة المتعاملين المدعومين" بحيث يدفعون تعرفة محددة من قبل الدائرة. ويتمثل الدعم الحكومي للقطاع في الفرق بين إجمالي الإيرادات التي يمكن استردادها من قبل شركات التوزيع والإيرادات المحصلة من تعرفة المتعاملين.

 

التعرفة القياسية

تقوم شركات التوزيع بالإعلان عن التعرفات القياسية حسبما تحدده الدائرة (الهيئة سابقاً)، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار أن التكاليف الاقتصادية الإجمالية لوحدة الماء أو الكهرباء حالياً تتجاوز أي تعرفة معلنة؛ حيث إن المتعاملين الذين يدفعون التعرفة القياسية يستفيدون من الدعم الحكومي.

إن التعرفات القياسية الحالية مطبقة على أساس سعر الوحدة؛ وذلك عن كل كيلوواط يتم استهلاكه من الكهرباء في الساعة ومن دون أن يختلف سعر الوحدة بوقت الاستهلاك في اليوم أو في السنة أو باختلاف مستويات الاستهلاك. ويقوم مستهلكي المياه بالدفع على نفس الأساس إذا كان لديهم جهاز قياس (عداد) وعدا ذلك فإنهم يدفعون مبلغاً ثابتاً شهريا.

وفي الوقت الحالي، تختلف تعرفة استهلاك الكهرباء حسب فئة المتعامل (على سبيل المثال: تجاري، أو مزارع، أو سكني) كما تعتمد التعرفة أيضاً على جنسية المتعامل المَعني.

ويوضح الجدول أدناه تصور الدائرة للتعرفات الحالية المطبقة على المتعاملين:

تعرفة كبار المستخدِمين

إن تعرفة كبار المستخدِمين متوفرة للمتعاملين الذين يفوق استهلاكهم اليومي من الكهرباء أو الماء عن 1 ميجاواط و10,000 لتر، على التوالي. وينبغي أن تعكس هذه التعرفات التكلفة الفعلية وتكون خاضعة لاعتماد دائرة الطاقة.

للمزيد من التفاصيل حول تعرفة الكهرباء والحصول على تعرفة كبار المستخدمين ودور الدعم الحكومي، يرجى الاطلاع على "تعرفة الكهرباء لكبار المستخدمين في إمارة أبوظبي".

رسوم التوصيل

تخضع توصيلات الماء والكهرباء الجديدة لرسوم التوصيل التي تفرضها شركات التوزيع، بشرط اعتماد الدائرة لهذه الرسوم. وتفرض شركة أبوظبي للنقل والتحكم (ترانسكو) رسوم توصيل على كل الجهات التي يتم توصيلها بشكل مباشر بشبكة النقل الخاصة بها. وفي هذه الحالة، فإن رسوم التوصيل تغطي تكاليف رأس المال وتكاليف الصيانة والتشغيل المستمر اللازمة لتوفير الأصول المطلوبة لتوصيل أي مستخدم بشبكة النقل.

رسوم استخدام شبكة النقل

تفرض شركة أبوظبي للنقل والتحكم (ترانسكو) رسوماً لاستخدام شبكة النقل التابعة لها على كل من شركات التوزيع (شركة أبوظبي للتوزيع وشركة العين للتوزيع) وشركة مياه وكهرباء الإمارات (للتصدير للمرافق الواقعة خارج إمارة أبوظبي).

 

منذ عام 2013، تم إعادة هيكلة رسوم استخدام شبكة النقل وتطبيقها على أساس الكمية (بالفلس لكل كيلوواط ساعة وبدرهم إماراتي لكل ألف جالون بريطاني). وتلتزم المرافق -كل على حدة- بسداد رسوم استخدام شبكة النقل، اعتماداً على وحدات الكهرباء والماء التي يتم إمدادها بها. وبشكل مماثل لتعرفة الإمداد بالجملة، يتم تحديد رسوم استخدام شبكة النقل، بحيث تختلف في أوقات الذروة عن الأوقات خارج أوقات الذروة على مدار اليوم ويوم "الجمعة" و"الأيام الأخرى" وأشهر الشتاء وأشهر الصيف.

 

ولذلك، يرسل نظام استخدام شبكة النقل تنبيهات إلى المتعاملين حول التكلفة الاقتصادية لتلبية طلبهم على الماء والكهرباء. وقد كانت تلك الرسوم –في السابق– ممثلة بالدرهم الإماراتي لكل كيلوواط وبالدرهم الإماراتي لكل ألف جالون بريطاني في اليوم، يتم دفعها من قبل المرافق على أساس حصة كل منها في إجمالي الطلب على الشبكة في وقت الذروة.

 

تغطي رسوم استخدام شبكة النقل تكاليف الاستثمار وتشغيل وصيانة البنية التحتية لشبكة النقل وتستبعد الأصول المخصصة بأكملها لمتعامل معين (التي تغطيها رسوم التوصيل). ويتم احتساب رسوم استخدام شبكة النقل عن كل سنة ميلادية على أساس توافق عليه الدائرة وفقاً للترخيص الممنوح لشركة أبوظبي للنقل والتحكم (ترانسكو).

X
تساعدنا ملفات تعريف الارتباط في تحسين تجربة موقع الويب الخاص بك. باستخدام موقعنا ، أنت توافق على استخدامنا لملفات تعريف الارتباط.
 
اغلاق